Numbering the Stars: Keep Calm and Read On

Anyone who knows me even a little bit knows that I’m a bit of a bookworm, and that when life gets hard, I pull out a book. I’m so grateful for the written word, for the collective knowledge and imagination of those who have walked this earth before me, for the opportunity to shed my skin and try on another, if just for five hundred pages or so.

Image
Bombed library at Holland House, in Kensington, London, 1940.

For that reason, I love this picture, of a bombed library at Holland House, in Kensington, London, 1940. Amid the devastation of the Second World War, these men knew exactly where to turn for peace.

Image

I don’t know whom to credit for the photograph, but it was recently made popular by James R. Benn

What do you read when you need to keep calm? Share your favorites in the comments, please, dear readers!

Thoughts?

