Numbering the Stars: Shooting Stars that aren’t Stars

A crop and enhacement of a Perseid Meteor I ca...
A crop and enhacement of a Perseid Meteor I caught, one of the best and brightest I saw and captured during the August 12, 2008 Perseid Meteor Shower. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Every night, as Ozzie and I walk before bed, I like to number the stars. I count each one as a special blessing from Father, and I like to share some of those blessings here. 

I said goodbye to Charming late Saturday night, as he headed to Phoenix for this month and Idaho from there. We stood outside by my truck, stretching the goodbyes as long as we could, and I couldn’t help but turn up my head to look out for my stars. We were outside for maybe half an hour, and I counted nine shooting stars before I realized that I was actually witnessing the Perseid meteor shower. One good thing about the general lack of stars in Yuma is that the bright ones REALLY stand out. ‘Twas gorgeous, and also comforting. Honestly, I’m having a hard time remembering any difficult event in my life that didn’t come with a beautiful starry hug from Father. I’m so grateful that Saturday night was no exception.

4 thoughts on “Numbering the Stars: Shooting Stars that aren’t Stars

Thoughts?

