The One in Which Facebook Shows Off Your Ugly

I have some acquaintances going through an ugly divorce. My divorce was finalized a little over a year ago, and I remember how emotional it is and how hard it can be. I also remember making a conscious choice with my ex husband to be respectful and kind to each other, and I’m proud to say that we have both kept that commitment throughout the breakup and subsequent relationships. Little did I know just how strange we were for making that choice.

Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...
Image via CrunchBase

As I’ve been paying attention lately, I’ve seen so many people air their ugliness on Facebook, with one or two particularly awful examples prompting this post. Divorcing couples, bitter dumpees, jealous exes, etc. It’s sickening. Many of us were told as children (say it with me now…)

If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all. 

So to Facebook users the world over, a thought. Trashing your ex to your best friend over dinner is one thing… broadcasting your hatred online is another. It makes you look small-minded and petty, and it makes everyone around you uncomfortable. Plus, it’s just plain mean. The world has enough mean in it already. So if I can paraphrase for a digital world…

If you can’t post anything nice, don’t post anything but cat memes.

Image

P.S. This is my 100th post! Thank you for sticking around this long, dear readers. I’m grateful for you, and I promise to never say anything mean about you on Facebook. 🙂 

Thoughts?

