Numbering the Stars: Strength and Courage and Really Old Rings

Image

Tonight, as I gently removed my heirloom rings, the wedding set of my great-great-grandmother, I was reminded of this picture.

Image

These rings have been passed down through the generations in my family– I inherited one from my mother and one from my grandmother.

They were also my wedding set, and I’m constantly answering questions about why I still wear them after the divorce. My answer never changes.

I wear them because they remind me, not of the woman I am yet, but of the woman I have the capability to become. I’m so grateful to come from such a long line of strong women, who have exemplified courage, time and time again. I’m so grateful for these women, and for their rings; they remind me that I can WILL grow strong, even in my broken places.

Image

One thought on “Numbering the Stars: Strength and Courage and Really Old Rings

Thoughts?

